top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePhilip George

BROUHAHAART Interviews Shani Eldar

Updated: Sep 8, 2022

Shani Eldar was born in 1977, Tel Aviv, Israel. She is a graphic designer (B.Des) and artist.

Married to Guy, mother of 4. Lives in Hod Ha’Sharon, Israel.

Since 2003, together with Guy, she works and designs, at Zugraphi - Design Studio, and Masters of Design - Academic graphics. For the past 13 years, she has been teaching art to children and adults.

She has painted and sculpted her entire life. Her childhood dream was to become an artist...



My name is Shani Eldar. I was born in 1977, Tel Aviv, Israel. I’m a graphic designer (B.Des) and artist. Married to Guy, mother of 4. I live in Israel. Since 2003, together with Guy, I work and design, at Zugraphi - Design Studio, and Masters of Design - Academic graphics. For the past 13 years, I have also been teaching art to children and adults.

Art was always part of my life. I can’t imagine living without it. It is who I am.

Why art?

I have been painting and sculpting my entire life. My childhood dream was to become an artist... In 2005, about six months after the birth of our eldest daughter, at the age of 28, I was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis. Coping with my illness was a difficult task, but I found that my art could help me deal with the loss of my physical ability and independence. For the next few years, I painted my frustration and I sculpted the pain, but I was too timid to expose my disabilities though my art...I had my children. We tried to live a normal life. And then came COVID-19.

Like all humans around the world, I also felt a burst of emotions, fear and anxiety. I felt helpless. These feelings led me realize something about myself, I was trying to hide for so many years. Professional therapy and the support of my amazing partner, helped me understand that I have been dealing with post trauma caused by incidents of sexual harassment, assault and rape I experienced from childhood to early adulthood. I found myself constantly painting and sculpting again. I wasn’t afraid anymore.

I made my artistic debut in September 2021. This initial experience helped me to overcome my insecurities and fear of exposure, and led me to attend more exhibitions to showcase my work and to finally fulfill my dream.

Image: Does anyone care. 2022



What motivates you to create and why have you chosen your particular subject matter and medium?

All of my artwork, since 2021, is about my post trauma caused by sexual violence and portrays my thoughts, feelings, and agenda about this subject.

I usually work spontaneously. Without any sketches. I write my memories, poems, texts. I visualize my pain. And then it all comes together as paint on the canvas, with or without handwritten text or as a sculpture.

Image: Not a child 2022




What's your biggest barrier to being an artist? How do you address it?

Sometimes I get insecure about if or how good I am, I fear the large number of talented artists in the world and the competition I am up against…I think that my downfall is to publish my art to the world through social media, updating my website and so…I don’t like to do it but I know it should be done.

Image: I said Nothing 2021




What’s the best piece of advice you’ve been given and professionally, what’s your goal?


The best advice that I got was to make art from my heart. Not to think about what other people will say, or whether they like it or not.

My Goal is to become a world-famous artist whose art made a change in people’s lives and especially in bringing awareness to stopping violence against women.

Image: Enough 2022






How do you go about getting known?


I try to participate in international and local exhibitions as much as I can and if it fits the house budget, of course.

I force myself into posting on social media and I send a newsletter to friends and clients from time to time. I am still learning how to get out of my own shell.

Image: Tarnished 2022





Eldar made her artistic debut in September 2021. This initial experience helped her to overcome her insecurities and fear of exposure and led her to attend more exhibitions to showcase her work and to finally fulfill her dream.

09/2021 Artistic debut in the group exhibition “Breaking the Walls” Her sculpture “Injected”(2009)

03/2022 “Caution! Fresh pain” was in a group exhibition in Tel Aviv, showcasing 100 posters and artworks made by Israeli women artists, dealing with violence against women. The exhibition will have a second showing, at the Association of Centers for Assistance to Victims of Sexual Assault.

04/2022 “Does anyone care?” was published in Artistonish Magazine Apr issue

05/2022 “Caution! Fresh pain” was in Diversia - UN Calendar - May 2022 international online group exhibition

“Without skin” and ‘Lost and found” were in a group exhibition in Jerusalem.

06/2022 “Without skin”, “Does anyone care?” and “Not a Child” are in an online group exhibition ‘Women (only)’. “Does anyone care" won first prize and the gallery rewarded me a solo exhibition that will be opened in Aug 2022.

07/2022 “Me&Me״, "?Does anyone care" and "Not a Child" were in a group exhibition ״Childhood as Disillusionment״ in Lotan Gallery, Jaffa, Israel "I said Nothing" and sculpture "Injected" were in a group exhibition "Identity as Belonging" in a youth center space in Ariel, Israel.


BROUHAHAART gallery specializing in 3D Virtual exhibitions and curated Virtual galleries, serving a Global community as well as professional galleries, organizations and Artists.


Virtual exhibitions provide an experience that is as close as possible to an actual gallery or museum visit.





103 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page